TV/Film

Why Brooke Davis from One Tree Hill is a suitable lifelong role model

Everyone who knows me will be aware that One Tree Hill is one of my favourite TV shows of all time, and Brooke Davis is one of my favourite TV characters ever. I decided to compile some reasons why she’s my no.1 TV bitch, and why we should all try and be a bit more like B-Davis.

She’s wise

bdavis1

‘And once you lose yourself you have two choices: find the person you used to be… or lose that person completely.’

She calls out crazy religious types

bdavis2

‘I hate to break it to you but you’re either a virgin or you’re not, and a pledge does not a broken hymen mend.’

She cares about body image

bdavis7

‘Zero is not a size.’

She’s a girl’s girl

bdavis11

‘Don’t cry for a guy, let a guy cry for you. Cause girls give and forgive, but guys get and forget.’

She doesn’t give up

bdavis8

‘Sometimes my heart aches at how my life has turned out, in a good way. It doesn’t mean there haven’t been hardships. There have been, but I’m here and here is good.’

She’s a loyal friend 

bdavis10

She has the best husky voice

bdavis13

She can survive heartbreak

bdavis9

‘The bad guys lie to get into your bed, the good guys lie to get into your heart.’

She’s sassy 

bdavis12

‘Okay, guy in need of a clue. Here’s one. Women send signals. That was a brush off. Before you dip into your shallow pool of wit let me paint us a picture and save us both the trouble. Here’s your evening. You are going to slink back off to your buddies, laugh this off, get wasted, go home, and make nice with yourself. But don’t be thinking of me, because even your fantasy of me isn’t interested in you’

She has the best boy advice 

bdavis5

‘Here’s my philosophy on dating. It’s important to have someone who can make you laugh, someone who you can trust, someone who, you know, turns you on…and it’s really, really important that these 3 people don’t know each other.’

She knows how to party

bdavis4

‘We’re young, we’re fine, lets do some damage.’

But she has the same fears as everyone

bdavis6

‘That’s what I’m afraid of. Not being enough. Not good enough, not smart enough, not pretty enough.’

She never apologises for being who she is.

A Hand to Take Hold of the Scene

‘I am who I am…no excuses. But I’d like other people to know that there’s a lot more to me than just some party-girl.’

Leave a comment